“The battle is not done”

I like to have the TV show Criminal Minds on in the background when I’m studying; during one episode I heard this beautiful singing and kept hitting repeat:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lb0ICvGQxrY

I googled and found out it’s a Christian hymn (My Father’s World) written in the 1900s by Pastor M.D. Babcock; he was inspired to write the lyrics from his hikes in nature. Before commencing his walks, he would say: “I’m going out to see my Father’s world”.

I wish there was a full version of this boy singing this beautiful hymn, but there isn’t one. But I found a really beautiful version by a female singer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1V9cpxMQkAA

My favourite line is: “…the battle is not done.”

When I go on hikes, I’m always in awe by how beautiful nature is. I find being in nature so peaceful, calming and inspiring. Research has shown that being in nature reduces stress.

A photo of the woods taken on one of my hikes in Essendon, Hertfordshire.
A photo of the woods taken on one of my hikes in Essendon, Hertfordshire.
Published by

The Constant Scholar

Former academic biologist (PhD), now a rogue scholar in psychology, philosophy, and other things that interest me. Things I love: films, books, music, writing, photography, philosophy, and psychology.

Leave a Reply

