“You can choose what you do; you can’t choose what you like to do”. – Gretchen Rubin

” I tended to overrate the fun activities that I didn’t do and underrate my own inclinations. I felt like the things that other people enjoyed were more valuable, or more cultured…more, well, legitimate. But now it was time to ‘Be Gretchen’. I needed to acknowledge to myself what I enjoyed, not what I wished I enjoyed.”  – Gretchen Rubin (The Happiness Project).

“Over the last few years, I’ve started figuring out what I really find fun. I realised I had a lot of stuff and activities in my life that I didn’t enjoy. These were things that others find fun, but they just weren’t to me.

“Accepting that what others find fun won’t necessarily be fun for me felt like a huge breakthrough. It’s hard enough to stay in touch with what’s fun for you, without thinking that you should like something that others find fun.”  – Anon blog reader (The Happiness Project).

I love trying new things, and I can get real obsessed and passionate about a new activity, and then go and buy all the paraphernalia, but I can just as quickly lose interest and get distracted by something else. My brother says I’m fickle. Maybe I am. I’m not a master of anything, I don’t have the desire to commit to any one thing, and put in the hours to become skilled at it, but I’ve embraced that part of me, and realised that I am instead a constant struggling interested student/amateur/learner of a lot of things. I’m an introvert at heart, and a lot of the activities I enjoy doing are quiet and solitary. I’ve given myself permission to do things I like doing, and not be concerned with what I should like doing, or what others like doing. We are all different and have our own unique likes and dislikes of what we like to do for fun in our spare time.

A list of some of the things I enjoy and like doing (this list is nowhere near exhaustive):

  • reading books
  • watching films (at the cinema/home), tv shows
  • writing in my notebook – verbatim notes of things I read in books that I love and find inspirational – for no reason other than having a collection of my favourite writings
  • listening to music (both live at concerts/gigs, and on my iPod)
  • learning to play the piano (no matter how badly I sound or how slow I am)
  • visiting museums, and exploring new places like cafes and restaurants. And castles – I have a thing about castles.
  • going to theatre shows
  • writing
  • taking pictures
  • reading about positive psychology and creativity.

Reader, what things do you find fun and enjoyable? Share your own list in the comments below!

Published by

The Constant Scholar

Former academic biologist (PhD), now a rogue scholar in psychology, philosophy, and other things that interest me. Things I love: films, books, music, writing, photography, philosophy, and psychology.

Leave a Reply

